Blog

Conservation, NOT River Withdrawals

Conservation, NOT River Withdrawals

On August 12, the St. Johns River Water Management District's Governing Board will vote on the District Water Supply Plan that proposes to withdraw millions of gallons a day from the St. Johns River and Ocklawaha River. We are urging the SJRWMD to remove all surface water withdrawal projects from the Plan. Instead, we are asking the SJRWMD to focus on water conservation, efficiency and reuse efforts. 

The District Water Supply Plan projects future population and demand through 2035, providing specific project options to meet the estimated water supply needs, including up to 86 million gallons of water a day (mgd) from the Ocklawaha River and over 64 mgd from the St. Johns River. The Plan estimates demand for water will exceed groundwater availability by 257 mgd by 2035.

While the SJRWMD District Water Supply Plan clearly demonstrates the feasibility of meeting future water demand with existing water sources, it fails to prioritize and focus on conservation and reuse projects. The draft plan estimates a potential water conservation savings of up to 190 million gallons of water per day (mgd) and a potential for the increased reuse of wastewater of 156 mgd. This is more than enough to meet projected deficits, without the need for risky withdrawal projects.

WE NEED YOUR HELP!

Contact the SJRWMD Governing Board and ask them to take the following action:

  1. Direct SJRWMD staff to remove all surface water withdrawal projects from the District Water Supply Plan.
  2. Direct staff to prioritize conservation, efficiency and reuse projects by focusing exclusively on these solutions to meet projected water needs in the Plan.
  3. If these changes don't take place, VOTE NO on the District Water Supply Plan on August 12.

John Miklos          jmiklos@sjrwmd.com
Maryam Ghyabi    mghyabi@sjrwmd.com
Fred Roberts Jr.   froberts@sjrwmd.com
George Robbins   grobbins@sjrwmd.com
Doug Bournique   dbournique@sjrwmd.com
Douglas Burnett   dburnett@sjrwmd.com
Lad Daniels          ldaniels@sjrwmd.com
Chuck Drake       cdrake@sjrwmd.com
Carla Yetter         cyetter@sjrwmd.com

Please join us on August 12 at St. Johns River Water Management District Headquarters in Palatka (4049 Reid St. Palatka, FL 32177). Email Lisa Rinaman at lisa@stjohnsriverkeeper.org for carpool information.

Why spend billions of dollars and jeopardize the health of our rivers with massive surface water withdrawals when we can meet our future supply needs by using our water resources more responsibly and efficiently?

The bottom line is that water conservation does work and is without question a much more sustainable, cost-effective and environmentally-responsible solution. Let’s keep the straws out of the St. Johns and the Ocklawaha, quit over-allocating our groundwater, and finally get serious about addressing the root causes of our water use problems.

Join the Riverkeeper

Latest Blog Posts

Conservation, NOT River Withdrawals
Conservation, NOT River Withdrawals
Surprise Decision, But Threat Remains
Surprise Decision, But Threat Remains
Legal Action Taken to Save Silver Springs
Legal Action Taken to Save Silver Springs
Dredging Plan Fails the Test
Dredging Plan Fails the Test

All blog posts

explore your river

Take an interactive journey through river sights & sounds!

Get the Guidebook

Learn about the ecology and rich history of the St. Johns River.

Boat Tours

Come aboard the Water Taxi for an incredible guided tour along the St. Johns River.