credit: Vince Lamb

Note: Scroll to bottom of this post for a video announcement from Lisa Rinaman, the St. Johns Riverkeeper

We want to thank everyone who helped make the Save the St. JohnsTour such a big success – the boat captains and volunteers, video crew, staff, outfitters, businesses, sponsors, organizations, and those who attended an event, paddle, or meet-and-greet throughout the watershed.  

Together, we were able to share the wonders of the St. Johns with thousands of people, while raising tremendous awareness about the significant impacts that threaten our river's future. We also cultivated new relationships and partnerships that will strengthen our collective efforts to protect our state's only American Heritage River.   It took a team effort to pull off this tour, and it will take a team effort to save the St. Johns.

While the Save the St. Johns Tour has come to an end, the work to save our river has just begun. Pollution problems are taking their toll on the health of the St. Johns and and looming threats are on the horizon, such as urban sprawl, dredging and surfacewater withdrawal projects.

In the days and months ahead, we will be posting updates about our ongoing efforts and how you can help.

Many challenges lay ahead, but we look forward to our work together to save the St. Johns!

If you missed it, click here to access the daily updates, videos, and photos from the Tour. 

A special thanks to the following individuals, organizations, businesses and agencies who helped make this Tour possible:

Sister Pat Siemen, Vince Lamb, Dr. Richard Baker, Jim and Jane Durocher, Charlotte Terry, Bill Belleville, Commissioner Lee Constantine, Robert King, Roy and Sandy Walters, Katie Moncrief, Clay Henderson, Judith and Bronest York, Lisa Grant and Dan Hays, Julie and Randy, Marilyn and Ted Herkowski, Cheri Goller and Michael King, Lake South, Michael Ramy, Sam Carr, Ken Mahaffey, Mayor Gordon Sands, Peri Taylor, Commissioner Chip Laibl, Commissioner Walt Pellicer, Lars Anderson, Dr. Bob Knight, Dr. Katie Tripp, Guy Marwick, Robin Lewis, Thomas Hawkins, Whitey Markle, Dean Campbell, Marc Hudson, Dr. Keith Holland, Sarah Bowen, Jessie Spradley, Brian Mickler, Dr. Quinton White, Dr. Nisse Goldberg, Dr. Jeremy Stalker, Dr. Lucy Sonnenberg, Ben and Louann Williams, Ray Hays, Jesse Hanson, David Strickland, Andrea Conover, Lowell and Dee Stephens, Bob Griffin, Walton Cheney, Steve Cobb, John Burr, Robert Burks, Ted Schneider, Chris Ferguson, Karen Chadwick.

Center for Earth Jurisprudence, Pelican Island Audubon Society, Surfrider Foundation Central Florida, Friends of the Wekiva River, West Volusia Audubon, Seminole Audubon Society, League of Women Voters of Central Florida, Enterprise Heritage Center and Museum, Bartram Trail in Putnam County, Florida Springs Institute, Save the Manatee Club, Felburn Foundation, Putnam County Environmental Council, Florida Defenders of the Environment, Sierra Club Suwannee St. Johns, Putnam County Blueways and Trails CSO, Florida Defenders of Wildlife, North Florida Land Trust, Mandarin Museum and Historical Society, St. Johns Audubon, League of Women Voters of Jacksonville/First Coast, Stetson Institute for Water and Environmental Resilience, Jacksonville University Marine Science Research institute, St. Johns River Center.

Middleton's Fish Camp, Karen's Kayaks, Marsh Landing Restaurant, Camp Holly, Pizza Gallery and Grill, Lone Cabbage Fish Camp, Imperial Wine Bar, Jolly Gator Fish Camp, Adventures in Florida, Swamphouse Riverfront Grill, Artisan Downtown, Pier 44, Indigo Inn, Blackwater Inn, Renegade's on the River, Riverfront Development Group, Adventure Outpost, Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost and Resort, Corky Bell's Seafood, Crystal Cove Marina, Outback Crab Shack, River View Inn, Doctors Lake Marina and Boat Sales, Julington Creek Fish Camp, Sadler Point Marina, Kayak Amelia, Sandollar Restaurant, The Florida Times-Union, Florida NewsLine, Black Creek Outfitters, Fun 4 First Coast Kids, Hobie Kayaks, PRC Digital Media.

Blue Spring State Park, St. Johns Water Management District, Brevard County Parks & Recreation, Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission.